Creating Pro User Groups

Add additional User Groups for more security and control over DeployHub Objects.

Intro to Groups

Access control to Objects are based on Groups. DeployHub Pro allows you to create custom Groups for organizing Users giving you more granular security control around the DeployHub Objects.

DeployHub default Groups include: -Administrator Group - The User who initially signs into DeployHub is automatically added to this Group. By default, this Group has access to all objects. -User Group - All Users who sign in after the initial Administrator User is created. -Everyone Group - All Users regardless of their assigned Group are automatically added to this Group. It is the default Group that provides access to “everyone” for all Objects. To restrict Everyone access, update the Access options at the Object level. This Group cannot be modified. If you delete a User from the system, they will be deleted from the Everyone Group.

Users are given access to DeployHub Objects based on their Group access. A many-to-many relationship exists between Users and Groups, so that a User can belong to many different Groups, and a Group can contain many different Users. If a User belongs to more than one Group, the User will be given the highest level of access.

Groups and Domain Inheritance

Users and Groups are created under a Domain. A User or Group that is created at a higher level Domain will inherit access to all Subdomains, based on their access settings. Group access and inherited access properties can be overridden within a Subdomain. As an example, Administrators, Director, and Operational level Users or Groups can be assigned to the highest level Domain for the Enterprise while Application Teams and Testing Teams can be defined to only the Subdomains that pertain to their area of expertise. Users or Groups can belong to multiple Domains.

Using the Group List View for Adding or Deleting

You will find Groups under the Setup menu. Selecting Groups will take you to a list of all Groups which you have access to. You can also use the Filter bar, represented by a funnel icon, to reorder your Groups List View based on Groups and Domains.

The Groups List View has the following Tabs.

Tab Description
Refresh Refreshes the browser.
Add Allows you to Add a new User of a particular type.
Delete Deletes the selected item.

From the Groups List View, double click on the Group which you would like to view to see all Details.

Using the Group Dashboard for Viewing and Editing

The Group Dashboard view displays all information related to a specific Group.

Group Details Section

Groups have the following attributes:

Field Description
Full Domain The fully qualified name of the Domain to which the Data Source was defined.
Group Name The name of the DeployHub Group.
Summary A description of the Group.
Email The Group email address that members of a Group would all have access to, in the event of a notify process.
Created Auto generated date when the Data Source was added.
Modified Auto generated date when the Data Source was updated.
Override Access Control If checked, allows any User belonging to this Group to have control over the entire system, and no access restrictions apply to them. This option creates a Super Group level of Administrator and should only be used for individuals with full administrative privileges.
Users When checked, allows the User to create and add Users to any of the Domains to which they belong.
User Groups When checked, allows the User to create and add Groups to any of the Domains to which they belong.
Domains When checked, allows the User to create and add Subdomains to any of the Domains to which they belong.
Environments When checked, allows the User to create and add Environments to any of the Domains to which they belong.
Endpoints When checked, allows the User to create and add Endpoints to any of the Domains to which they belong.
Repositories When checked, allows the User to create and add Repositories to any of the Domains to which they belong.
Components When checked, allows the User to create and add Components to any of the Domains to which they belong.
Credentials When checked, allows the User to create and add Credentials to any of the Domains to which they belong.
Applications When checked, allows the User to create and add Applications to any of the Domains to which they belong.
Application Versions When checked, allows the User to create and add Application Versions to any of the Domains to which they belong.
Actions When checked, allows the User to create and add Actions to any of the Domains to which they belong.
Procedures When checked, allows the User to create and add Procedures to any of the Domains to which they belong.
Data Sources When checked, allows the User to create and add DataSources to any of the Domains to which they belong.
Notifiers When checked, allows the User to create and add Notifiers to any of the Domains to which they belong.
CD Engines When checked, allows the User to create and add Build Engines to any of the Domains to which they belong.

User Membership

NOTE: DeployHub creates a Group named “Everyone” whenever it is installed, and every User that is created is added to this group and cannot be removed from it.

This section shows a list of all Users who belong to the selected Group. Click on the plus ‘+Add’ option to add a User to this Group. A new row will be added to the table with a drop down list allowing you to select the User to add to the Group. Select “Save” to commit the row to the table. You can use the Edit option to make a switch without having to first perform a Delete, and then an +Add.

Audit Trail

The Audit Trail displays audit entries for any changes or deployments that impact this object. It includes any changes in the object including User date and time, and deployments with unique numbers.

You can Subscribe to or Comment on an Audit Entry.

  • Subscribe: Allows you to receive information about the selected deployment.

  • Comment: Add information by clicking on the ‘Comment’ link within a text entry field. There is a field above the list labeled “Say something about this Application” that can have comments placed into it, and files can be attached to the comment as well. Enter text into this field to activate the Add Message button. Click to save the comment.

  • Add Files to Comments: Click on the paperclip icon to add a file to the message. Once added and you made a comment, click “Add Message”. Click on the paperclip icon to retrieve these attachments. The icon opens the line in the list to display the name of the file. Choose the file to download it into the your default Download directory on your local computer.

Last modified July 9, 2020: small cleanup (b45ee8f)