Managing Users

Adding and Managing Users.

Intro to Users

Users are given access to DeployHub Objects based on their Group access. By default there are three Groups.

-Administrator Group - The User who initially signs into DeployHub is automatically added to this Group. By default, this Group has access to all objects. -User Group - All Users who sign in after the initial Administrator User is created. -Everyone Group - All Users regardless of their assigned Group are automatically added to this Group. It is the default Group that provides access to “everyone” for all Objects. To restrict Everyone access, update the Access options at the Object level. This Group cannot be modified. If you delete a User from the system, they will be deleted from the Everyone Group.

A many-to-many relationship exists between Users and Groups, so that a User can belong to many different Groups, and a Group can contain many different Users. If a User belongs to more than one Group, the User will be given the highest level of access.

Users and Domain Inheritance

Users are created under a Domain. A User that is created at a higher level Domain will inherit access to all Subdomains, based on their access settings. Group access and inherited access properties can be overridden within a Subdomain. As an example, Administrators, Director, and Operational level Users or Groups can be assigned to the highest level Domain for the Enterprise while Application Teams and Testing Teams can be defined to only the Subdomains that pertain to their area of expertise. Users or Groups can belong to multiple Domains.

Using the User List View for Adding or Deleting

You will find Users under the Setup menu. Selecting Users will take you to a list of all Users which you have access to. You can also use the Filter bar, represented by a funnel icon, to reorder your Users List View based on Users and Domains.

The Users List View has the following Tabs.

Tab Description
Refresh Refreshes the browser.
Add Allows you to Add a new User of a particular type.
Delete Deletes the selected item.

From the User List View, double click on the User which you would like to view to see all Details.

Using the User Dashboard for Viewing and Editing

The User Dashboard view displays all information related to a specific User.

User Details

The following details are common to all Users:

Field Description
Full Domain The fully qualified name of the Domain to which the User was defined.
User Name The Login name of the User.
Real Name The User’s Proper Name.
Email The User’s email. Used to send event notifications.
Phone Users phone number.
Date Format Defines how the date will be displayed to address geographical differences.
Time Format 24 hour clock (military time) vs. 12 hour clock
Validation Data Source (DeployHub Pro Feature) Set to the Data Source (LDap, Active Directory) for login. This is a DeployHub Pro Feature. The Data Source must be pre-defined. See Managing Data Sources for more information.
Password Password selected by the User (encrypted in the database).
Account Locked Locks the User out of the system.
Force Change Password Forces the User to change their password on initial sign-in.
Created Auto generated date when the Notifier was added.
Modified Auto generated date when the Notifier was updated.
Credential The Credential used to access the Notifier if required.
Last Login Displays the last time the User logged in.

Group Membership

This Section contains a list of all the Groups the selected User belongs to. Add a Group to the selected User by clicking on the plus ‘+Add’ sign in the upper right, which adds an empty row to the table with a drop down list of all available Groups. Use the Save option to commit it to the table. Use the Trash Can icon to delete a Group from the table.

DeployHub Team has two Groups, Administrators and Users, to which Users can be assigned. Access control to Objects are based on these two high level Groups. DeployHub Team allows you to create as many Users as required but only the “User” and “Administrator” Groups are supported.

DeployHub Pro allows you to create custom Groups for assigning Users giving you more security control around the Objects. For information on how to create User Groups with DeployHub Pro see Creating DeployHub Pro Groups

Audit Trail

The Audit Trail displays audit entries for any changes or deployments that impact this object. It includes any changes in the object including User date and time, and deployments with unique numbers.

You can Subscribe to or Comment on an Audit Entry.

  • Subscribe: Allows you to receive information about the selected deployment.

  • Comment: Add information by clicking on the ‘Comment’ link within a text entry field. There is a field above the list labeled “Say something about this Application” that can have comments placed into it, and files can be attached to the comment as well. Enter text into this field to activate the Add Message button. Click to save the comment.

  • Add Files to Comments: Click on the paperclip icon to add a file to the message. Once added and you made a comment, click “Add Message”. Click on the paperclip icon to retrieve these attachments. The icon opens the line in the list to display the name of the file. Choose the file to download it into the your default Download directory on your local computer.

Last modified July 9, 2020: small cleanup (b45ee8f)